Hitting The Bottom/To Cut Or Not To Cut

I’ve mentioned before that I like the Box Bottoms that started appearing in the mid 80’s. It was one of the first ways I noticed a variation or insert for a set when I was growing up. Over the past 30 years I’ve accumulated a large amount of these and they always posed a logistical struggle with storage and display. The main question:

“To Cut, Or Not To Cut”

Whether ’tis nobler in the mind to suffer
The storage of a full uncut box,
Or to take Arms against a Sea of storage issues,
And to cut them (or at least the sides).

Until now I was on the uncut side of the fence, but that has changed. I’m now a cutter.

Panel from 2016-17 O-Pee-Chee Hockey

I’ll be keeping the panels together, but removing the sides and tops of the boxes. They do have a little dotted red line to cut along, which to me means they are meant to be cut. So shall it be.

Anyone else grappling with this dilemma?

 

Leave a Reply

