O-Pee-Chee Reprint Love

Loyalty is a dying art these days. I’ve been loyal to the O-Pee-Chee brand since I started collecting. I remember visiting with my cousins who lived near the border and they would sometimes have Topps cards mixed into their piles and I’d pull them all out before any trading was done.

It took me a few years to realize that O-Pee-Chee had the license to Topps products in Canada and the cards where very similar (with the exception that O-Pee-Chee came out later in the season so there would be some cards updated or noted “now with..”)

O-Pee-Chee flew solo in the 90’s for a couple years and had unique product (Premier for one), before being relegated to being a Topps Insert/Parallel only and then disappearing altogether for a few seasons.

Happily (for me) Upper Deck took over the licensing of the name. In Hockey that meant stand alone products bearing the famous O-Pee-Chee logo to collect and gave me a reason to pick up newer issues. On the baseball side, it’s been mostly forgotten and unloved in the past 23 years. Nothing from 1994-2008 (that I have been made aware of) carried the magic words O-Pee-Chee.

Until 2008 when this neat 50 card insert was included. In 2009 their was a full run, but these were the first new ones to carry on the lineage.

Thanks to Brian at Highly Subjective And Completely Arbitrary I know have my first new O-Pee-Chee cards to come out since 1994.

My goal of collecting one of every O-Pee-Chee card is now 1 card closer.

 

5 comments
  1. I knew about the 2009 set, but I don’t think I realized that OPC made their comeback to baseball in 2008. I’m fairly sure I’ve never seen that insert set before – very nice!

  2. Robert McIelwain said:

    Well, you now have to find OPC Partridge Family cards (including he who’s been in the news past few days, David Cassidy) from 1971. They are the cards that started my collection in 1972, along with some 71-72 Hockey (Gerry “Cheesy” Cheevers) & ’72 OPC Baseball (Dick Drago). Just found the blog – nice!

  3. The one thing I didn’t like about the return of OPC baseball by Upper Deck was the lack of French.. To me, that really didn’t make them OPC..

    • french would have been good, but to me the logo, the old card stock, it is enough to remind me of what was a great company.

Leave a Reply

