Midweek Movie Mania – Non Sport Part 3 – Not Actively Collecting

One of the most challenging parts of collecting is knowing what to collect and what not to collect. The definite “Yes I must have that” type cards are easy. So are the “Ugggh! no way am I keeping that” issues. What is difficult for me at least, is the cards and sets that fall closer to yes, than no, but are not a sure thing.

For that I have my 3rd category.

Keep – Not Actively Collecting (NAC)

– The card sets I keep but don’t really track. If they turn up in a lot I pick up I’d add them but I’m not going to trade for them or buy them. I’d probably trade them to someone else if a good deal came up to add some cards I care more about. They don’t normally get listed on the trader page (unless of course I have doubles of them.) At some point they will likely move up or down a category.

Today is Movie Day!

1990 O-Pee-Chee Dick Tracy – Bad Film, Bad cards. Promoted as “The Movie Event of 1990” and starring Madonna and Warren Beatty. There is no reason to keep them, but I have an obsession with O-Pee-Chee. I can’t help but keep these around.

scan0019 Dick Tracy can’t save the movie, but he saves the cards.

1982 OPC E.T. The Extra Terrestrial – Sticking with the movie theme, and the O-Pee-Chee theme. It’s hard not to keep a card when it’s A) and O-Pee-Chee or B) It’s from one of the most beloved movies of the 80’s or C) it’s a 33 year old card I have left over from a pack I actually bought as a 10 year old.  When it combines all 3, it’s a keeper. Or at least a Keep – Not Actively Collecting.

I’m gaining on this set one card at a time.

scan0027

1978 OPC Superman: The Movie  Are you noticing a trend? Superhero movie. Check. Vintage. Check. O-Pee-Chee Check. Of course I’m not junking this set. A few doubles will even make it to the trade page. This 132 card set is not currently listed in the trading card database, and has some differences in numbering than the larger Topps set. Plus it’s bilingual!

Image result for o-pee-chee superman

Leave a Reply

