Monday Morning Hodge-Podge

I’ve always liked that phrase. A hodge-podge.

hodgepodge or hodge-podge

(ˈhɒdʒˌpɒdʒ)

n

1. a jumbled mixture
2. (Cookery) a thick soup or stew made from meat and vegetables

Also called (in Britain and certain other countries): hotchpotch

I’m guessing that it is because I grew up in a house with English parents.

I picked up a hodge-podge of cards (the jumbled mix, not the stew) on Friday from a guy I met online. He was looking for 86-87 OPC in great condition to trade and I just happened to have a bunch from the replacements I had after buying the full set a couple weeks back.

So needing an excuse to travel to city I took my nephew for a road trip and we went and made the trade.

IMG_0497
A hodge-podge within a hodgepodge. Some 1983-84 OPC Stickers. I’m pretty sure I had this whole set at some point in my life, but it’s been lost to the sands of time. Look closely. It’s the bottom half of Ray Bourque, the bottom of Glenn Anderson and the top of Wayne Gretzky.

IMG_0498

 

I’ve always liked the 1977-78 OPC set. Simple design and one of the last sets to show Team Cards. Today you can still get Team Logo cards, but not team picture cards very often. Such a simple idea, I’m really not sure why it hasn’t been brought back.

IMG_0499

WHA Cards. I love ’em. Hard to find sometimes, but always a blast when you do. Marc Tardif. In an LA Sharks uniform on a Quebec Nordiques card. Whats not to love?

3 comments
    • Yes, there is always something special about cards from defunct teams or leagues.

Leave a Reply

