The Long Hiatus Is Almost Over/2015 Goals

It’s been almost 18 months since the last consistent posting here. Forgive me but moving to The Dominican Republic made card collecting a bit difficult.

I had some hopes when I first moved down here. It’s a baseball mad country. But alas, other than a few beat up 90’s junk wax the pickings were slim.

But now my contract is almost up (my role was to come down here and set up a satellite office for our company) and I’m moving back to Canada at the end of January. Yes it’s crazy to move from the warmth of the Caribbean to Canada in the middle of winter.

So, I thought seeing as this was an end of year post it made sense to put in my 2015 goals.

1) Get my cards out of storage (should always start with an easy one)

2) Update my checklists to get my lists up to date

3) complete 1 pre-2000 OPC hockey set

4) get a minimum of 1 card from each OPC base set pre 2000

5) get to 40% on The White Whale (I am at 1364 cards. So just a smidgen over 33% completed.) If you can help please check out https://supportingtheminnow.wordpress.com/the-white-whale/

6) Attend the Spring/Fall Card Expos in Toronto and the National in Chicago

All achievable goals.

But most importantly. Get back into the hobby I’ve missed.

T

1 comment
  1. Jason Shortt said:

    Good morning Trevor.

    I think we’ve emailed before on a couple of things OPC hockey related, but I think it was right before your move. I have enjoyed your posts over the last couple of years and was happy to see the last one stating you’ll soon be back here in Canada and getting back into the cardboard. I too had to pack my collection away for a few years as I attended University in Ottawa. There was really no reason to haul my collection of thousands of hockey cards the 500+ km from Hamilton to Ottawa considering I was likely going to be way to busy to collect during most of the year. When I was able to finally get them unpacked it was a great feeling. I’m sure if you love collecting as much as I do, you’ll experience the same enjoyment once you have a chance to dig everything out. My wife and I have been to Dominican Republic a couple of times and (although I wasn’t looking) never came across cards of any kind. If I do get back I might see if I have any extra Baseball cards to take back for the kids.

    I’ve looked at your collecting goals for 2015 and think I can help if your interested. I started collecting seriously back in 1989. I had collected cards before that, but for the most part they likely ended up in the spokes of my bike. 1989 found the release of the first Upper Deck Baseball set and I decided to try to put together as much of the set as possible. At $4 a pack for 12 cards I failed miserably. I might have got 100 cards of the giant set. I was 12, and $4 was a lot of money for me. Baseball was nice, but the next year Upper Deck did the first hockey set and I was hooked (every cent I owned went into completing that set and it started the family tradition of getting a box of cards for Christmas from my parents, a tradition that still happens to this Christmas when I got a box of UD Hockey and a set of 2014-15 OPC. Maybe it’s why such a big fan of Christmas! LOL). As I got older though and got a car, girlfriends, and a mortgage, not to mention a huge collection by this point, I decided to focus on 1977 (the year I was born) through 1992-93 OPC sets in as good of condition I could find. As of today, I’m missing 12 cards to complete this massive task. All cards are next to Mint, and the collection includes all inserts (Topps too) and box bottoms. I’m down to a Mike Bossy RC and a couple of commons spread out throughout the years. Needless to say, I’ve stockpiled a lot of double OPC cards from these years. Many large lots I’ve sold on eBay to fund the cards I still needed, but I still have a bunch. ……….This is were I may be able to help you out.

    I am now in the process of trying to make space. I have a bunch of 800 and 500 count boxes lying around with mixes and matches of various double OPC’s from the late 70’s, 80’s and 90’s. They’ve been lying around for years and I really have no idea what to do with them. They’re in mixed conditions, stars and commons, and I don’t have the time to find the people to find each and every one of them a home. Then I saw your posting the other day and figured maybe you could use them. There’s at least a 800 count box, maybe two. I believe there might even be a complete 1989-90 set in there. From the sounds of it you’d be able to give them a good home and I’d have no problem mailing them to you when you return. I realize they’re just cardboard, but I still want to know they will go somewhere they can be enjoyed and I guess that’s why I’ve held onto them so long. Let me know if you want them and I’ll put them aside for you. When you get home I can put them in the post. I’m not looking for any money for them. Like I said, I just love the hobby so much that knowing they’ll be enjoyed and live on in another collection is all I want.

    It’s been a mild winter here in Toronto this Christmas, especially compared to last year. It snowed yesterday for the first time in weeks but it’s melting now. There’s a cold front coming in Monday and it looks like more snow for the early parts of next week. There’s something to think about while enjoying the DR sunshine and warmth. I wish you a safe trip home and much success with your 2015 collecting goals.

    I look forward to your future posts.

    Take care,

    Jason.

Leave a Reply

