95-96 OPC

I focus on OPC hockey. I have a list of all the sets made and am trying to complete them all. One that has eluded me so far (and honestly I haven’t broken a sweat looking for it) is the 1995-96 OPC.

Here’s the thing though. If you are looking for 95-96 OPC they don’t really exist. OPC didn’t exist yet and this was before Upper Deck bought the name and before Topps put out a couple sets with that brand.

It only exists as an insert. Randomly inserted in the 95-96 Topps set.

There is only one difference between the cards and that is that it shows OPC on the front instead of Topps.

IMG_1097[1]

That’s a shadow of my hand 🙂

No other difference. They didn’t change the photo or even add French to the back.

IMG_1098[1]

 

So you can see why I’ve never really gone to great lengths to find them.

However at the beginning of the year one of my goals was to get a minimum of one card from each set. And now I do. I have this one. Vladimir Malakhov.

A friend a work found a stack of cards at home and brought them to me as he knows I collect and wanted a “value”. Telling him the Pro-Set, Score and UD cards were pretty much junk I did see this one card.

He offered to sell it to me for whatever I said it was worth. I gave him a nickel and overpaid.

 

Leave a Reply

