Competition for the White Whale

I’ve created a monster. But a good monster. I don’t have kids so my only hope for passing on my love of sports cards goes to my nieces and nephews, or my best friends kids. For the longest time it looked like the end of the line..but there is a glimmer of light.

My nephew turned 9. He loves hockey. He discovered hockey cards. He discovered his Uncle’s hockey card collection. He left home with a “starter” box of about 3,000 various junk wax cards and a hope from me he would actually enjoy them. And to my joy he did!

I’m trying not to push him to hard, but I make sure whenever I see him I have something to trade and he has gone to the Card store in his hometown with his dad. They live in a small town so it was a small shop. This past weekend I took him to my favorite card store in Toronto. He was blown away. I figured I would just take a quick visit and maybe check for a few cards for The White Whale and he wanted to go through EVERYTHING on my want list. I had to explain to him that we would be there all day so we settled for spending an hour or so poking through the packs and boxes. Looking at the displays. The look on his face was priceless.

I asked him what he wanted to collect. He said “Same as you Uncle Trevor” which I had to admit was pretty cool. So I bought him a few packs of 12-13 OPC Hockey.

Little bastard held me hostage for a Black Rainbow I needed!

I have trained him too well.

4 More Black Rainbows
IMG_0862[1]

And Stan Mikita (of Stan Mikita’s Donut Fame)
IMG_0861[1]

IMG_0860[1]

Leave a Reply

