Going for the Master Set..My personal White Whale.

A Master Set.

Is it the Holy Grail of Collectors or a delusional unattainable dream?

I’ve completed 12 sets this year after getting back into my collection after a few years of light involvement. But a Master Set of 1979-80 OPC is only 396 cards. There are few inserts, parallels, redemptions or Short prints in sets before 2000 so it’s fairly straight forward. It’s just a matter of finding the cards you need.

So why go for a Master Set of anything more recent? Well for me it’s the challenge. Not many people are attempting it so why not go for it. Plus it gives me a reason to trade for newer stuff as I find it harder and harder to trade for the older stuff I need.

So here it goes. I’ve thrown down the gauntlet to myself. I am going to go for the OPC Hockey 2012-13 Master Set.

Pack

Why this set? Honestly it was the strike. I made a vow to not buy any new product after this set (it came out just before the strike started). So why not go out with a bang. A challenge of epic proportions.

I could be crazy, I could be overly ambitious but lets review this post at the end of 2013 and see how it looks.

By my count the set would be 3,625 cards. (Please correct me if i am wrong)

As of December 15th, 2012, I am at 479 cards. So just a smidgen over 13% down.

Base: 376/600 = 63%
Retro Parallel: 55/600 = 9%
Rainbow Foil: 16/600 = 2%
Black Rainbow #’d/100: 4/600 =.06%
Red Border #.’d/100: 0
All Stars:0
Stickers:19/100 = 19%
League Leaders: 4/9 =44%
Black & White: 0
Pop Ups:4/50 = 8%
Logo Patch Cards: 0
OPC Signatures: 1/30 = 3%
Team Canada Signatures: 0
Buybacks: 0
Sport Royalty: 0
Bonus Autographs: 0
Blaster Box Bottoms:
Hobby Box Bottoms:
Marquee Legend Gold:0

To track the progress I’ve started a separate page  https://supportingtheminnow.wordpress.com/the-white-whale/

Please go over and check it out and let me know if you can help. I figure the first 1000 or so cards should be fairly easy.

Marquee

Leave a Reply

