No Longer A Rookie Trader – 1977 Topps – Trade #1

One of the main reasons I got this blog started (along with the fun of writing about sports cards and the occasional showing off of something neat) was the ability to interact with fellow collectors.

The thought of  trading with other people via the mail was the most intriguing part of it. I mean seriously, who doesn’t like to get real mail with something cool in it?

So today I am happy to make two announcements.

1) I completed my first trade. (of which I hope to have a lot more)

2) I set a new record for oldest cards in my baseball collection.

My baseball collection is not nearly as extensive as my hockey collection so the amount of stuff I have to trade is not as deep. The one thing I do have as a benefit is OPC versions of the cards of the late 70’s and early 80’s, so this is what I can trade with.

Thanks to Robert at http://30aweekhabit.blogspot.ca/ for making my first trade so simple and fun.

To see what I sent Robert go here ->  http://30aweekhabit.blogspot.ca/2012/07/late-70s-were-lean-years-in-blue-jay.html

Here is what I got back (which to mean seems like a great deal)

I have no idea who any of these guys are..but that’s what I love. I can now do some research and find out.

Nice simple design, full stats on the back.

Love the sunglasses on Darrell.

Overall I got about a dozen cards for about the same going to Robert. It’s like we were back on the schoolyard making the trade.

I’ve got a long way to go on my collection of Topps Base sets, but every journey starts somewhere.

Thanks Robert for making my first trade so easy and for the great cards.

 

 

3 comments
  1. Mark said:

    Good stuff! I’m a big fan of the 1977 set. When my uncle was moving to Florida a few years back, he decided to downsize some non-essential items, including his childhood card collection. It was mostly cards from this era, so I have a good deal of the ’77 set.

    Congrats on your first trade…

    • Thanks Mark..just took a look at your blog as well..maybe we can set up a trade?

      If you have any Topps doubles (even Junk wax years) I’d be glad to take them..only looking for base sets.

  2. Robert said:

    Thank you for the trade as well! Best of luck completing the ’77 set.

Leave a Reply

