1983 Topps – Only 789 Left to go.

I’ve been reading a lot of great sports card collecting blogs over the past few weeks as I dive headfirst into the online collecting community. Lots of people are going for the new stuff, although I don’t really get the appeal of the Ginter issues, especially the inserts and other cards.

For me it’s always been about the base sets, and completing them. I’ve never been swayed by the ooohh-aahh factor of a piece of fabric squished into a card or an autograph. If it is not something that anyone can get easily then its not part of the base set and I’ll pass thank you.

Having said that, it’s good that others covet these as it makes trading easier for me as I get rid of them.

When it comes to base sets of baseball I’m sticking to Topps. I’ve almost finished sorting through the massive box I got at a yard sale which prompted me to start actively collecting baseball a few weeks back. My hockey collection is coming along nicely but with the baseball I seem to be able to make some massive jumps in the size of my collection pretty easy.

From nothing to….lots of junk wax in one easy step.

As of last week I meant to post this showing off my oldest Topps cards.

1983. I know, not impressive for a lot of people who have original Mickey Mantles of cigarette cards from 1918, but you have to start somewhere.

A checklist that is unmarked is always a great way to start a set. And a leader card.

the only other card I have is Bill Buckner

3 years before the moment that would unfortunately define his career. Still with the Cubs. Love the ‘stache.

So that’s it. 3 cards from the 1983 Topps set. 789 left to go on my oldest set.

Leave a Reply

