George Brett, KC Royals & easing into Topps Baseball

Admittedly I know very little about baseball cards compared to hockey cards. When I get a lot from a yard sale I usually buy it based on the hockey cards and put the baseball, football, racing, basketball etc aside to deal with later.

But, with my recent change to allowing the possibility hat I collect Topps baseball I’ve had to force myself to learn more about the cards and the players. I don’t want to miss the chance to pick up something that could be a good trader or worth something as i don’t recognize the name.

Most of the cards I have are 1985 and onwards. I do recognize some of the players from growing up. There was always a baseball game going on somewhere and the summer in Ontario did not have much else to follow so by default it was baseball.

What I like about this new system is meeting interesting people (via email) like Josh from http://royalsandrandoms.blogspot.ca/

Easy going, easy to chat with and indulges me when I propose modest trades. They are the trades that make sense and remind me of when I was younger. I’ll send you stuff I don’t want or need and you send me stuff you dont need or want. But what I really like is that it brings up good memories and forces me to research on players and teams which helps me figure out my collection.

Today’s lesson for me is George Brett & preview cards.

Here’s what I knew before. Played for the Royals. Think he may have been on those good mid 80’s royals teams that battled the young Blue Jays of the time (when the won their first pennant and almost won another). And I remember the KC Royals coming back and knocking off the Jays in the playoffs. I think that proves the adage you have to lose before you win as the Jays of 1985 were not ready for a World Series but made it back to the playoffs in 1989 and then went back to back as champions (how soon people forget).

What I have learned since.

Topps issued a few preview cards like the one below in 1993 and 1994. They came in a cell pack of 9 cards or included in factory packs (I think that’s where mine came from). The stats go up to the previous year and they have the “pre-production” label on them. The Front is the same design as the actual issued card, but the back layout is different from what Topps went with.

George Brett was really good. 1st ballot Hall of Fame good.

3,154 career hits are the most by any third baseman in major league history . Mentioned in the same hits club as some other pretty good players like Hank Aaron, Stan Musial and Wille Mays (3,000 + hits and lifetime .300 avg)

George Brett was controversial (or at least in a controversial situation) The “Pine Tar” incident of 1985. Although I’m not sure what advantage it would give you to have pine tar on your bat, maybe someone can explain that.

And Brett likes hockey. he is a part owner of the Spokane Chiefs WHL team.

He also did a great 7-up commercial
So Josh, thanks for re-introducing me to George Brett.

Leave a Reply

