Stacks and Stacks (or why I gave in and started to collect Topps Baseball)

I’ve collected Hockey Cards for the past 30 or so years. It’s a fun hobby that I enjoy with a couple of close friends. One of the things I like to do and the way I like to get my cards is buying lots on Kijiji or classifieds, or even just getting my non collecting friends to dig their old cards out of their closets and give them to me.

Up until recently I would parse through the lots I got and dump off the non hockey anyway I could. But recently there has been a switch in the lots I have been getting. As my OPC Hockey collection is getting more and more complete I am finding less and less cards I need.

I recently went to Hamilton (about 45 min drive) with my best friend JP and combined with a recent purchase of a lot from Oshawa I had bought 2 lots with about 200 cards I really needed and about 2,000 extras. So hence my dilemma.

I figured I had 3 options

1) Collect different hockey brands/years

2)Not collect anything else and dump the extras

3) Expand the sports I collect.

After a quick bit of soul searching I went with #3 and have decided to collect Topps Baseball.

As always with a few rules. Most importantly is Topps Baseball BASE sets only. No Chase cards, no inserts.

Here’s the start of my collection

Almost a complete 91 and 93, lots of 90 and 92, and then diminishing amounts back to 1984.

So. I guess after years of denying it I’m also a Baseball card collector. Wish me luck. I have a lot of catching up to do.

One thing I have learned is that my stack of OPC Baseball is kinda rare. So if you need some OPC baseball from the early 80’s let me know and we can work a trade.

Here’s the proposal. I send you whatever you want from my OPC baseball doubles.

When you see what you get and if you like it, send me what you consider fair value in Topps Baseball. But here’s the catch. Start with the oldest card(s) in decent condition (comparable to what I send you) you are willing to part with. It can be a 1967 common for all I care.

The oldest baseball card of Topps (heck oldest of any baseball) I have right now is a 1979. If you think 1 1965 common is equal to what I send then great, or 2 1977 or 3 1970 whatever, I defer to your opinion.

I’d much rather get 1 or 2 old Topps base cards than a bunch of new Topps for a few reasons.

1) This will allow me a reason to write a new post
2) It will force me to do some research on the player just to improve my baseball knowledge.
3) We’ll have completed a trade and I can make it onto your “people I have traded with list
4) I get rid of a bunch of cards that would hopefully make someone else’s collection abit better
5) It gives me a goal to strive toward as I will want to get all the other cards from that set.
6) being from Canada, I just dont see a lot of old baseball in yard sales compared to Hockey

What do you think?

Trevor

3 comments
  1. 1967ers said:

    I went through the same process a few years ago and decided on OPC ball mainly because those were the sets I’d sort of lazily collect while waiting for the next hockey release to come out (and because I’m a shameless homer). Now, it’s true that 80’s OPC baseball is the redheaded stepchild of baseball collecting, but 70s OPC is surprisingly challenging and 60s is nigh-on impossible – which makes them fun.

    Food for thought.

    Welcome to the blogosphere!

    Also – why does your OPC hockey list start at ’69-70 and not ’68-69?

    • I’ve got a bunch of OPC baseball from the late 70’s and early 80s, but my logic is that Topps version is the bigger, better more desirable set in baseball so its the way to go. Its kinda like OPC hockey is better than Topps hockey.

      Fixed the error in the list. I had cut of the 68-69 list..missing all as well 🙂

      • 1967ers said:

        From ’77 onwards that’s largely true (though individual OPC cards from about ’77-81 more than hold their own vs Topps), but the sets from 1965-76 are distinctly tougher than Topps and the cards take on a pretty noticeable premium. 1971 and 1973-76 are the exact same in terms of size (though there are no OPC traded sets). Pretty much any 1971 OPC will go for 2-5X the price of the equivalent Topps card.

        People also like 1977 OPC because there are a ton of variations compared to Topps.

Leave a Reply

